One of the toughest emails for our Support team to answer is the one from the parent or teacher who is writing for help in recovering a user's customized vocabulary. Maybe the device needs to be replaced or something happened to the iOS system and it needs to be restored and we have to break the bad news: If you have not created a backup file and saved it to your computer or to your Dropbox account, there is nothing we can do.

Automatic backups

Proloquo2Go makes internal backups automatically every day the app is in use. If you are running Proloquo2Go 5, you can set Proloquo2Go to automatically save the most recent backup from each user to iCloud, Google Drive or Dropbox. Note that iCloud only stores one backup from each user at a time, and it is replaced daily. It is worth manually saving a backup using another service every time you make major changes to be sure your customizations stay safe.

Manual backups

You can also save a backup file manually using iTunes File Sharing, Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud (this will replace the backup file currently stored) or Connect to Computer (WiFi). For instructions, please see:

Backup regularly!

No one has ever damaged a vocabulary while creating a backup file. It is a safe and important process. It is multi-stepped but straightforward and our resources provide you step-by-step instructions with screenshots. Your backup is only helpful if it is current. Make it a habit to create a backup file each time you customize or at least once a month.

Prevent deletion of apps

It is possible to prevent the deletion of apps. To do this, go to the Settings app and then go to General > Restrictions > Enable Restrictions. We strongly recommend that you turn off the ability to delete apps to protect your Proloquo2Go customizations. However, this does not protect you from losing customizations as a result of the failure or loss of your device.

If you have any questions, the AssistiveWare Support team is available 7 days a week to assist you at support@assistiveware.com.