How can I backup, transfer and/or restore my vocabulary?

To make sure you do not lose any of your customizations, it is of utmost importance to make sure you always have a recent backup saved.

Proloquo2Go makes internal backups automatically every day the app is in use. If you are running Proloquo2Go 5.1, you can have Proloquo2Go upload the automatic backup to iCloud, Dropbox, or Google Drive as soon as it is created. However, iCloud will only store one backup from each user at a time, which is replaced daily. If automatic backups are set to go to Dropbox or Google Drive, a maximum of three automatic backups from each user per device will be kept in your Dropbox account. We strongly encourage you to also manually save and export backups using Dropbox, Google Drive, iTunes File Sharing, or Connect to Computer (WiFi) after any major customizations.

If you are running Proloquo2Go 4.x or earlier, Proloquo2Go's automatic backups are only stored inside the app. If the app is deleted, they will be deleted along with it*. It is very important to protect your customizations by exporting and saving backups of all your Proloquo2Go users using Dropbox, iTunes File Sharing, or Connect to Computer (WiFi).

For instructions on backing up Proloquo2Go, please see the links below.

Proloquo2Go 5

Videos: 

PDFs:

You can find tutorials for saving backups using Proloquo2Go 3 and 4 in our Proloquo2Go resources archive.

* Note that it is possible to prevent the deletion of apps. To do this, go to the Settings app and then go to General > Restrictions > Enable Restrictions. We strongly recommend that you turn off the ability to delete apps to protect your Proloquo2Go customizations. However, this does not protect you from losing customizations as a result of the failure or loss of your device.

 

 

Was this answer helpful for you?