What should I do if Proloquo2Go displays a Damaged Vocabulary error message?

First, make sure that you have a recent backup file of your vocabulary saved in Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud, or on your computer.

If you do not yet have a backup file saved, save a backup of the Proloquo2Go user receiving the Damaged Vocabulary message. This can be done without opening the app using iTunes File Sharing.

For instructions, please see pages 2-3 in the following PDF tutorials:

Next, to begin troubleshooting, make sure that you are using the latest version of iOS and Proloquo2Go that your device can update to. 

For instructions on updating iOS, see this Apple Support document: 

For instructions on updating Proloquo2Go, see this FAQ: 

If there are no updates listed, there are additional troubleshooting steps you can try:

  1. Exit all of your running apps using multitasking and restart your device.

    For instructions, see these Apple Support documents:
  2. Check how much storage is free on your device. If you notice that your device is almost full, deleting some apps and files may solve the problem. To check the amount of free storage, open the Settings app, and then go to General > Storage & iCloud Usage. We recommend deleting 5-10GB of content.

If these steps do not help, delete Proloquo2Go, redownload the app for free, and transfer and restore your vocabulary:

  1. Tap and hold on the Proloquo2Go icon on your device's home screen until it begins to wiggle. Tap the "x" in the top-left corner. When prompted, tap Delete.

    WARNING: 
    Only delete Proloquo2Go if you have saved your vocabulary using one of the methods listed above. The backup file(s) will end in ".p2gbk". Once Proloquo2Go is deleted, all backups inside the Proloquo2Go app are also deleted.

  2. Redownload Proloquo2Go for free.

    For instructions, see this Apple Support document:
  3. Open Proloquo2Go and create a new user.

  4. Restore your vocabulary using Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud, iTunes File Sharing, or Connect to Computer (WiFi) by following the linked instructions in this FAQ: How can I backup, transfer and/or restore my vocabulary?

Note that if you have multiple users in Proloquo2Go, you will have to create additional users within Proloquo2Go and then restore each backup. For instructions on creating additional users, see this page from the Proloquo2Go Manual.

If you have any questions, please email us at support@assistiveware.com for further assistance.


Was this answer helpful for you?